Patriot-A Poem

Happy birthday to my sister Kate; my blogging friend, writing friend, reading friend, fun friend, and friend. Don’t tell Kate I did this. Named the post something else and then snuck this in here. Haha!

Anyway, I wrote a poem. I don’t do it often; only when inspiration strikes. Here goes.


The wind screams and shivers,
And winds among the stones,
Searching for its long-lost tune,
As I listen to its moans.

Even though the night is dark,
I do not fear the graves,
It is the memories that haunt me,
And wash o’er me like waves.

The soldier’s earthen mound,
And epitaph engraved,
Echoes duty’s call and tells,
What the patriot has braved.

His character and happiness,
His determined sense of right,
His never flinching sacrifice,
Is what brings me here tonight.

He shouldered responsibility,
He trained with us in mind,
He left to end the plague of war,
Now he’s buried with his kind.

The night wind has found its tune,
It sings a battle song,
I know where I am going,
I know the journey’s long.

I go in the soldier’s legacy,
My ship leaves at first light,
And even though I go to die,
I will; I will to fight.


Some of the pacing is choppy, but I hope you enjoyed reading that as much as I enjoyed writing it!

3 thoughts on “Patriot-A Poem

Leave a Reply

