Podcast: Defining Your Writing Voice

Podcast 1

This is my first ever podcast!!!!!!!!!

And I did it in a submarine! (JK, but I plan to upgrade my mic in the future.)

In it, I share three thoughts on “defining your writing voice”.
#1. Your writing voice should be your character’s voice
#2. Your writing voice will vary by genre AND story length
#3. Your writing voice is YOUR voice

 

Intro/exit music: “Take a Chance” Kevin MacLeod (incompetech.com) Licensed under Creative Commons: By Attribution 3.0 License creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0/

Tell me in the comments what you think defines and affects YOUR writing voice. Nature or nurture?

9 thoughts on “Podcast: Defining Your Writing Voice

  1. “We’re gonna die effect”…. LOL! Seriously, though, I don’t care if things are cliche- if it’s awesome, it’s awesome. 😛 However…. killing character’s isn’t awesome! I love my characters too much to kill them. ducks and hugs them
    Great tips here, and right on! Thanks! Personally, I believe that if writing is a gift from God… you shouldn’t try and focus so much on what’s ‘right’- if it’s in YOU, DO IT. 🙂 That’s what I think…

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I actually don’t kill as many characters as I think I do. They are mostly nameless, faceless “stormtroopers”. 😉

      Personally, I can’t feel it very well so I have to get advice and critique, but maybe that’s the same difference as there is between plotters and pantsers?

      Liked by 2 people

  2. Sorry, didn’t listen. But . . .

    Happy birthday!!!!!! 🙂 (Someone said you were getting older. We won’t mention names, but she also has a blog and, interestingly enough, has the same last name. Hmmm.) Anyway, I hope your day is wonderful.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. So much fun sitting on your bed and laughing hysterically at you while you recorded this over and over. Sorry. 😄

    No really– Great stuff, Paul! I especially like “Thought 3”. It makes a lot of sense and it’s definitely something I’ve had to keep in mind for Country Girl recently!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

